E-Issue 02 –– NYC Spring 2021
  1. Editor’s Note
  2. What’s On in NYC
  3. Pop(Corn): Zeid Jaouni
  4. You Can Take The Girl Out The City 
  5. Rapport: NYC
  6. Kindergarten Records Discuss The Future of Electronic Music
  7. Sole DXB Brings NY Hip-Hop To Abu Dhabi
  8. Wei Han Finds ‘Home’ In New York
  9. Vikram Divecha: Encounters and Negotiations

E-Issue 01 –– AUH/DXB Summer 2020 
  1. Editor’s Note 
  2. What’s On in the UAE
  3. Pop(Corn): Hashel Al Lamki
  4. Tailoring in Abu Dhabi  
  5. Rapport: Dubai 
  6. Michael Rakowitz From the Diaspora

E-01++ Fall/Winter 2020-21
    GRV MIA Anywhere Hosts First Virtual Exhibition of Female Chechen Artists    
    DXB Sa Tahanan Collective Redefines Home for Filipino Artists
   SHJ Sharjah Art Foundation Jets Ahead on the Flying Saucer
    AUH SEAF Cohort 7 at Warehouse 421 
    DXB 101 Strikes Again with Second Sale at Alserkal Avenue
    DXB Spotlight on Dubai Design Week 2020
    DXB Melehi’s Waves Complicate Waving Goodbye
    DXB Kanye Says Listen to the Kids: Youth Takeover at Jameel Arts Centre
    DAM Investigating the Catalogues of the National Museum of Damascus
    AUH Ogamdo: Crossing a Cultural Highway between Korea and the UAE
    TYO James Jarvis Presents Latest Collages at 3110NZ
    DXB Do You See Me How I See You?
    DXB Thaely Kicks Off Sustainable Sneakers
    AUH BAIT 15 Welcomes New Member Zuhoor Al Sayegh
    MIA a_part Gives Artists 36 Hours to React

    UAE Tawahadna Introduces MENA Artists to a Global Community
    LHR/CAI Alaa Hindia’s Jewelry Revives Egyptian Nostalgia
    DXB Taaboogah Infuses Comedy Into Khaleeji Menswear
    DXB Meet Tamila Kochkarova Behind ‘No Boys Allowed’
    DXB Alserkal Arts Foundation Presents Mohamed Melehi
    AUH/DXB 101 Pioneers Ethical and Curious Art Collecting
    AUH Sarah Almehairi Initiates Conversations
    DXB Augustine Paredes Taking Up Space
    LHR/MCT Hanan Sultan Rhymes Frankincense with Minimalism
    BEY GAD Map: Arts & Culture Relief for Beirut

E-Issues Info
––
    1. Mission
    2. Schedule

    3. Editorial Board
    4. Contributors
 
GAD Info ––
    1. About Global Art Daily
    2. Archive
§§ Year 2018
    NYC Shirin Neshat In Conversation with Sophie Arni and Ev Zverev
    PAR Hottest Spices: Michèle Lamy
    BER Slavs and Tatars: “Pulling a Thread to Undo The Sweater”
   AUH Abu Dhabi Is The New Calabasas

GAD Talk Series ––
    1. What is GAD? 2015 to Now

    2. Where is GAD? An Open Coversation on Migration as Art Practitioners

    3. When the Youth Takes Over: Reflecting on the 2020 Jameel Arts Centre Youth Takeover
   4. Young Curators in Tokyo: The Making of The 5th Floor
    5. How To Create Digital Networks in The Art World?

Open Call ––
    Policy



Main website ︎

Mark



4. You Can Take The Girl Out Of The City


By Blair Cannon and Christian Barberena

Published on February 20, 2021

           
        The New York Times published a map in May 2020 titled “Where New Yorkers Moved to Escape Coronavirus,” citing Los Angeles as the sixth most popular pandemic escape destination. L.A. Magazine piped up two days later with “Dear New Yorkers: L.A. Is Not Your Coronavirus Hideaway.” Through the blue light, one girl fiercely nodded in resounding agreement, determined to find her way out of this temporary bout of Los Angeles sunshine and back to the overcrowded, icicle-ridden streets where she really belonged. Months flew by. It didn’t work out. She had dodged Covid-19, but came down instead with a burning case of Cyber Stockholm Syndrome.


YOU CAN TAKE THE GIRL
OUT OF THE CITY


Creative Direction and Styling


Photography

Model


Makeup


Hair





1. First look: Archive Dior (@dior). Skirt: Archive Versace (@versace). Coat: Saks Potts (@sakspotts). Bag: Telfar (@telfarglobal). Shoes: Christian Louboutin (@louboutinworld). Earrings: Ninna York (@ninnayork). Glasses: Vintage. Second look: Top and pants set: Archive Moncler (@moncler). Bag: Archive Céline (@celine). Shoes: Vintage. Earrings: Custom Christian Barberena (@thankschris). Rings: Elle Qui Vit (@elle.qui.vit). Glasses: Archive Elie Saab (@eliesaabworld). Third look: Robe: Vintage. Gloves: Vintage. Shoes: Jennifer Le (@iamjenniferle). Jewelry: Alessandra Rich (@alessandrarich).



2. Top and pants set: Archive Moncler (@moncler). Bag: Archive Céline (@celine). Shoes: Vintage. Earrings: Custom Christian Barberena (@thankschris). Rings: Elle Qui Vit (@elle.qui.vit). Glasses: Archive Elie Saab (@eliesaabworld).



3. Robe: Vintage. Gloves: Vintage. Shoes: Jennifer Le (@iamjenniferle). Jewelry: Alessandra Rich (@alessandrarich).



4. Top: Archive Alexander McQueen (@alexandermcqueen). Earrings: Ninna York (@ninnayork).



5. Pajama set: Archive Emilio Pucci (@emiliopucci). Earrings, necklace, ring: Ninna York (@ninnayork). Bracelet: Dalmata (@shopdalmata). Shoe: Archive Salvatore Ferragamo (@ferragamo). Blanket: Burberry (@burberry). Pillows: Calvin Klein (@calvinklein).



6. Sweater: Archive Alberta Ferretti (@albertaferretti). Pants: Archive Louis Vuitton (@louisvuitton). Sandals: Archive Balenciaga (@balenciaga). Rings: German Kabirski (@germankabirski). Glasses: Vintage. Earrings: Vintage.



7. Top: Archive Dior (@dior). Skirt: Archive Versace (@versace). Coat: Saks Potts (@sakspotts). Bag: Telfar (@telfarglobal). Shoes: Christian Louboutin (@louboutinworld). Earrings: Ninna York (@ninnayork). Glasses: Vintage.


Creative Direction and Styling: Blair Cannon (@petty__cash) and Christian Barberena (@thankschris)
Photography: Allegra Messina (@messinaphotos)
Model: Halimotu Shokunbi (@shokunbi.halimotu) with The Lions LA (@thelionsla)
Makeup: Taylour Chanel (@taylourchanel)
Hair: Jordan Alex (@_jordanalex)

Layout: Sophie Arni and Ev Zverev.
Many thanks to Blair Cannon.
Shot in January 2021 for Global Art Daily (GAD) E-Issue 02, NYC, Spring 2021.